Denise McDonald Dorman

Undercover Boss…REALLY?!?

In Uncategorized on September 27, 2010 at 12:56 am

Imagine you’re earning under $50k a year,  or maybe under $30k. All of the sudden a film crew magically appears to tape you training a new employee in how to, say, clean hotel rooms, shovel shit out of horse stalls at the racetrack, or drive a garbage truck with zero time to take a pee break. Chances are, you’re co-starring in an episode of Undercover Boss. I’ve watched enough episodes to say with confidence, these on-camera CEO trainers may not be in the 39% tax bracket, but it’s no reflection on their I.Q.’s. I secretly hope they’re amping up their tales of woe just to win that promotion or raise they always seem to get at the very happy ending portion of the program. I think they’ve earned it just for willing participation in this  “city mouse-meets-country mouse” reality TV charade.

Oh, what I would give to see my BFF Christina Bouvier in an episode of Undercover Boss, training some C.E.O. in her Midwestern manufacturing plant.  With a straight face, over an Oliver Twistian lunch of water and stale Melba toast, she would spin a yarn so tragically sad that even Donald Trump, tear-soaked silk hankie in hand, would be begging her to move into his carriage house by show’s end. Within a month, she’d be living rent-free in one of his spare penthouse suites. Within six weeks, she’d be telling Trump “You’re fired!” on his own TV program. To quote Gordon Gecko, “Greed is good.”

  1. i don’t know, maybe it’s because I’m an eternal optimist and don’t have very many cynical bones in my body, but I =love= this show! I didn’t see how they’d be able to trick people for a second season, so I was pleasantly surprised to see it on the TV calendar last night. I even skipped “Mad Men” (downloaded it from iTunes instead) so I could watch it.

Leave a Reply

