Denise McDonald Dorman

Two BFFs Discuss Today’s Oprah Episode

In Life Observations, WriteBrain Media on May 7, 2010 at 3:48 pm

This morning’s phone call with BFF Christina Bouvier was classic. Together, we were watching Oprah over the phone, trying to spot Bouvier’s bro in today’s audience – lime green shirt, folks – and today’s episode was celebrating a decade of O Magazine at Radio City Music Hall. One of their purported big “moments” on today’s show was the shaving of Dr. Phil’s moustache, which he’s had for the past 38 years.  I tuned in about 15 minutes late, so Christina Bouvier had to fill me in. Here’s the playback:

Christina Bouvier: So once again, Dr. Phil has hijacked the first 10 minutes of the show. That guy doesn’t know when to shut his mouth. Oh God. There’s his wife in the audience. I don’t know who I can’t stand more, him or his wife.

Me: She wrote that book a while back on women’s health – remember? She did that book signing at the Meijer’s in St. Charles. Lame.

Christina Bouvier: I wouldn’t read that fucking book even if it was lined with doobies!!!!

So…I discovered today that Christina Bouvier has a visceral reaction to anything related to Dr. Phil. I have no idea where this stems from.  I don’t really have an opinion on the guy, except for the one time I thought he was truly inauthentic – when he started that whole diet program, replete with an expensive series of pills one could buy at the local drugstore. I’m fairly certain he was laughing all of the way to his Beverly Hills bank.  Hey, admittedly, I’m a sucker from way back for people who can motivate me to lose weight – from Suzy Powter to Richard Simmons to Valerie Bertinelli to the most recent, Weight Watchers Jennifer Hudson–but these weight loss gurus must prove to me that THEY can do it before I will take the dive.

This morning, Dr. Phil looked bloated and about 30 lbs. overweight. A guiding light for the multi-million dollar weight loss industry? Not so much. I do know that, like me, Christina Bouvier despises liars. Maybe she’s on to something.

  1. Really awesome post. Truely.

  2. You have done it once more. Superb post.

  3. If only more than 83 people could hear about this..

Leave a Reply

