Denise McDonald Dorman

OLD NAVY ADS = BIG BOWL OF OBTUSE

In WriteBrain Media on March 11, 2010 at 6:28 am

Over the holidays, I got a huge kick out of Old Navy’s talking mannequin TV ads. The new ads? Not so much. I get it that they’re doing some sort of vote-me-off-the-island throwback, but it just doesn’t work. If you can explain them to me, go for it! There’s live action, there’s mannequins and I’m just left confused by this big bowl of weird.

I’m one of those freaks who actually LIKES to watch live television and see the ads. I get anxious when my hubby fast-forwards past the ads on our DVR’d programs. I know and appreciate the hundreds of thousands of dollars, attention to detail and hard-fought creative that went into all of those ads. When they work, they’re magic. I could watch them again and again. Remember the liquor ad two years ago with the guy buzzing around in his fly costume, having pillow fights with hot babes, terminated all too soon by his short life span? I really MISS that ad. They chose the perfect music bed. Everything worked. Magic.

Another puzzlement? Why does Burger King continue investing in a series of ads with that creepy masked king? I have asked at least 50 people of all ages, sexes, religions and ethnicities–they all find the campaign creepy and bewildering. He would have made a great Pennywise the Clown in Stephen King’s “It,” but I can’t believe that campaign actually sells burgers.

As your humble pop culture correspondent, it’s my solemn duty to offer up these analyses based on my years of consumerism and couch potato’d-ness. Feel free to share yours with me – I look forward to your feedback, and dare I hope?, your interpretation of those Old Navy ads.

Denise,
Your Humble Pop Culture Correspondent

Leave a Reply

